Visa to Denmark

If you are visiting Denmark, you must check whether you need a visa, depending upon your nationality and the purpose of your visit.

Entry to Denmark depending on your nationality

Denmark is a member of the European Union. Therefore, different entry requirements may apply depending on your nationality and from where you are travelling.


Denmark is a member of the Schengen Agreement

Denmark is a member of the European Union´s Schengen Agreement, which essentially means that there are no passport controls between Schengen countries in Europe, and you don´t need to show your passport when you arrive from another Schengen EU country.

We still recommend you to bring your passport to prove your identity, also because of some airline companies require a passport for travellers within the Schengen area.

Member of the Schengen countries

Following countries is a member of the European Union Schengen agreement:  

Austria, Belgium, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden and Switzerland.

The Schengen visa usually grants you the right to travel in the Schengen region for maximum 90 days.


Visa and entry requirements to Denmark

Citizens from the EU countries can travel freely to Denmark, but citizens from other countries may need a visa, also if you are coming from countries outside the Schengen countries.

Check out our related links to find more information.